The Belly and the Baby, 6 Months

By popular request, I had Kabyn take a “belly picture” this morning.  Here’s me and the little girl at 6 months:

6 Months

Despite how unbelievably flattering that picture is, here’s another, from when we were in Victoria:

On Babymoon, 6 Months

The maternity shirt helps to add some fluff effect there.  My OB said on Thursday that she was happily resting crosswise, with her head above my right hip and her feet above my left hip.  She was in exactly this position, resting happily on her back, in the last two ultrasounds, hence the two ultrasounds, as she wanted to lie on her back and not show off her spine like the doctor wanted.  After two failed attempts to see the spine on the ultrasound, we decided not to try again, figuring she’d still be contentedly resting across my stomach, lying on her back and imagining she is looking up at the stars.  The one thing we want her to do and she refuses… 

This position might explain why my 20 pregnancy pounds are headed out to the sides more than out front!  Though I like to think it’s my abs of steel… 🙂   It also definitely explains why I feel an almost-constant pitter patter of little feet on my left side and nothing much on my right side.

I did have the first person ask me if I was pregnant!  A grandmotherly African-American woman sized me up in Victoria and said, “so, what are you, four months?”  Much to my delight I told her she was the first person to ask, though actually I was closer to six months!  It made me ponder how somehow we as people tend to be bold about criticism, out loud or in our heads, but we’re somehow more hesitant about being bold when it comes to being friendly or encouraging.  Not that we should all race around and ask anyone looking soft if they’re pregnant, but for me in this moment, I was so delighted this woman could step outside herself and offer me words that were such a blessing.

Proverbs 19:14

 May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
       be pleasing in your sight,
       O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Belly and the Baby, 6 Months

  1. Michelle says:

    Dude, thanks for finally showing a picture! If that’s what you look like at 6 months prego, I think right now I must look like I’m about 7 or 8 months along with my chocolate chip cookie baby. I feed it quite regularly and it’s pooching out in front just like my niece! The pic of you in Victoria is the biggest I’ve ever seen your boobs. Congrats.

  2. Christy says:

    YAY! Thank you for the belly pictures! Can’t wait to meet baby Begg! Any names picked out for her yet?

    You look about as pregnant as I did at 6 months. Must be the height =) That will all change in about another month. But you’ll probably only look 7 months when you are full term–I shocked a few nurses that way when I went in for my last OB appt at 9 months =) Oh the glory of being tall!

Leave a Reply

