Faith, Hope, and Love

I went downstairs to do yet another load of laundry, and noticed the three little signs we have posted over the kitchen counter in the basement unit:  “Faith” “Hope” and “Love”.  I mused on how these days, it seems everything I read or hear in our country is driven by fear.  Take this article that I read earlier today.  The people mentioned were motivated by anything but faith, hope, or love.  The signs are based on this well-known passage from 1 Corinthians, a favorite for wedding readings: 

4Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  8Love never fails. […] 13And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

I’ve heard these three words linked together many times, as a sort of pleasant and inspirational statement.  But suddenly after pondering the state of economic and political affairs, I realized what a dramatic difference it would make if instead of fear we were motivated by faith, hope, and love.  Instead of letting fear drive our purchasing, which leads to even more economic disaster, what would it even look like if we were motivated by faith, hope, and love? 

Like in the economic sphere, the headlines in politics are fear-based.  We’re told that Obama is supposedly consorting with terrorists, McCain is “more of the same”, and that we pretty much should just choose the candidate we’re less afraid of. 

I’m afraid just like anyone else; these days my fears seem rather minor compared to economic collapse or a presidential election, but to me they are real and sort of all-encompassing.  I’m afraid my kid will never sleep in her own bed, I’m afraid I’ll never be able to finish my Ph.D. (because she won’t sleep except on me).  So to me and to all of us the challenge is the same–to choose faith, hope, and love, rather than fear.  This task seems impossible, but the words of Psalm 46 hold our only hope for hope, rather than fear:

1 God is our refuge and strength,
       an ever-present help in trouble.

 2 Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
       and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,

 3 though its waters roar and foam
       and the mountains quake with their surging.
       Selah

 4 There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
       the holy place where the Most High dwells.

 5 God is within her, she will not fall;
       God will help her at break of day.

 6 Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall;
       he lifts his voice, the earth melts.

 7 The LORD Almighty is with us;
       the God of Jacob is our fortress.
       Selah

 8 Come and see the works of the LORD,
       the desolations he has brought on the earth.

 9 He makes wars cease to the ends of the earth;
       he breaks the bow and shatters the spear,
       he burns the shields [b] with fire.

 10 “Be still, and know that I am God;
       I will be exalted among the nations,
       I will be exalted in the earth.”

 11 The LORD Almighty is with us;
       the God of Jacob is our fortress.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Faith, Hope, and Love

  1. steph says:

    Thanks Alyssa-
    I myself am guilty of living and acting in fear. It seems to be overwhelming only because I choose to dive into the sea that it is.

    It is very encouraging to be reminded at this time and place that Christ’s Hope and Love should be at the center of our hearts.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

