Don’t Quit

Today as I picked up Alaythia from school, she was so excited.  Before she even got in the car she squealed excitedly, “Mommy, mommy, look in my backpack!  I made you a card!”  We opened the backpack and saw the front of her lovely card:

Image

She said proudly and sweetly, “It says: Mommy, I love you SO much!”

I replied with a big smile on my face,”That’s so sweet honey!  I love it!  Thank you!’

Then she opened it to show me the inside:

Image

I asked her what it said, and she replied, “It says: Don’t quit!”

“That’s interesting,” I replied, thinking it must be some kind of encouragement for my work or something. “Don’t quit what?” I asked.

She replied matter-of-factly, “Don’t quit on Daddy!  He loves us so much.”

For the official record: I have no such thoughts of doing so! And I was bewildered, puzzled, and a little disturbed that she felt it necessary to write me a card to let me know this piece of wisdom.  I think my mouth dropped open in surprise. Finally I reassured her, “Don’t worry, honey, I don’t plan to.  Where did you get that idea?”  She didn’t seem to have an answer, so then we discussed that it was good advice, and agreed to post in on the fridge as a reminder not to ever give up on people.

And for the official record: my husband is amazing, and I do not appreciate him enough, apparently, to make it obvious that I think so and am committed to him till death shall we part!

It did make me wonder what they discussed at preschool today, however…!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t Quit

  1. Grandma Bushby says:

    You have a very intelligent daughter and I must admit she’s one of a kind.

Leave a Reply

